It’s a sad world after all

by maddrunkgenius

As of the time of this “blog”, I have one friend on myspace. Pretty pathetic, but in my defense, I’ve only tried to get one friend, and that’s only so that I could post on his site because he’s a cool guy and makes good music. None of you people out there not reading this care about that, so let me get to my point.

Myspace can be a sad place, and I don’t just mean because it’s a wasteland of intelligence. It’s sad because even on the internet, there are still the haves and the have-nots. Some people have lots of friends, others almost none, and that’s a shame. There’s zero quality control, of course, but when I see a dude I’ve known for years (again, not naming names) who was pathetic as hell in real life, then I visit his myspace site and I see he has almost no friends and zero comments… Man, it’s just pitiful. He could be happy and successful right now, but I doubt it. I kept trying to think of what the guy had going for him and so far as I know, pity was it.

You don’t need friends to be happy, but it helps. It helps to feel appreciated and liked. Myself, I can get that pretending to be a likeable person. Maybe he can too, but I doubt it.

I’m not sure where I’m going with this. Maybe it’s just to say that high school isn’t important in the long scheme of things but it carries over. Success in school doesn’t guarantee success in life, but generally, success with people is something that stays constant, and the lack thereof is also true.

When you’re unpopular as a kid, we try to tell you that it’s going to get better, but come on. Everyone who’s worked at a job knows “that guy”. He’s the same guy who was “that guy” in school, now he’s just older and more pathetic.

Even worse than “that guy” is the “guy who doesn’t know he’s that guy”. I had a constant paranoid fear that this was who I was, but for the most part I can be pretty sure I wasn’t, because I was making fun of GWDKHTG along with everyone else. You were nice to his face, made jabs you knew would go over his head, and let him pretend he was well liked until he got out of earshot.

I say that’s worse, but at least he was happy. Someone who’s a loser and knows it has nothing positive to latch on to. Maybe it’s a blessing to be blissfully unaware. In fact, I’m sure it is.