National Public Radio – twice as many listeners as I have readers

by maddrunkgenius

I got interviewed my National Public Radio today over the whole Bible Elective thing happening at Permian. I got interviewed and sounded like a complete and utter moron (though nowhere near as pretentious as I let myself become in my “writing voice”).

To quote a character from my fanfiction, “Words are slippery things” and they slip right out of your damn mouth without waiting for approval from your brain.

There’s an earlier post about this subject, “Netspeak to 1984 in a 1000 words or less” is the general idea, if not the exact title. I prefer the written medium because even when I’m at my most inebriated (from lack of sleep, mind you) and uninhibted, I revise what I’ve written at least a couple of times and I think about what I’m going to say more times than that.

But spoken words slide right off the tongue and onto your foot and then you insert them back into your mouth, or up your bum depending upon the severity of your mistake.

I won’t bore you with my political and theological opinion on the subject of a public school creating a class for the sole purpose of teaching the Bible, but it’s very well thought out and I rival the greatest poets and minds of any age in regards to its depth, scope, and imagination. Take my word for it. Written out, that comes across very clearly. Spoken aloud…. My natural stupidity should never be allowed to shine through. If I had any sense at all, I’d take a vow of silence. On the other hand, “Better a loud jackass than a quiet elephant.”

That’s a proverb isn’t it?