“Those who restrain desire, do so because theirs is weak enough to be restrained”

by maddrunkgenius

It’s been said (said, mind you, never proven) that if a man desires an object, it is his responsibility to take it, assuming that it is within his power to do so. Might makes right, winners right history, etcetera.

“History is the collective chronicle of pragmatism,” some will say, “and its triumph over naive idealism.”

And having said this, they will have opened their mouths and removed all doubt that they are fools.

Let me preface all that follows with the proverb, “Anyone who makes an absolute statement is either lying, ignorant, or both.”  As I will be making more than my share of absolute statements, I leave the interpretation of that proverb to yourself.

There is a real world. This I think we can agree on rather quickly, and if you disagree, imagine there is one for the sake of this conversation. If it is easily accepted that there is a real world, it is only slightly less easily accepted that there is an ideal world, the arguments only a matter of the nature of it being completely intangible, or a perfect thing reality copies imperfectly.

I don’t really suppose it matters which. We’re talking about the-

Oh never mind, I’m being pretentious and lost my train of thought anyway.