My Western Civilization professor likes to write depressing quotes on our tests

by maddrunkgenius

For example, when we were doing Sumerian and Egyptian section, the test had the quote, “My god, how long will you neglect me, leave me without protection / Leave me without guidance, My god this learning is difficult.” Basically, the last thing you want to read when22 you’re taking an exam.

Anyway, today we had our test over Rome to the early Middle Ages and his quotes were, “Hail emperor, we who are about to die salute you,” “Ite, missa est! (Go it is ended)”, “Deo gratias(Thanks be to God)”, and “Mea culpa, mea culpa, mea maxima culpa (Through my fault, through my fault, through my most grievous fault)”.

After I took the test, I felt pretty good about myself and remembered the only Latin phrase I know, then wrote it down underneath all of his.

“Veni, vidi, vici.”

I felt smug afterwards and still do, but we’ll see if perception and reality are the same thing.